Position-Force loop 0-120000N

Having a project for a testbench that will control a cylinder in a position-force control loop.

My customer want to copy the setup from a similar testbench and make a new with the same capacity. Their current testbench is operated manually where they can (with a light hand and fine adjustment) get the machine to pull down to 500N.
My question is, would it be possible to automate this, with an RMC ofcourse, and still atleast be able to pull down to 500N (they would like go less if possible) as well as pulling up to it’s max 120000N capacity.

I’m no expert in hydraulics, but I think that when someone needs to pull 500N they doesn’t choose a 120000N cylinder.

There isn’t any data available for any of the hydraulic components yet as this is still in a very early state.

Claus,

You are correct that it can be difficult to control to a value that is a very small percentage of the maximum capacity. The two main factors are the feedback resolution and the gain of the actuator. When I say the gain of the actuator, I mean how much the actuator responds to a small change in the command signal.

With high-resolution feedback and a high-response valve, I would expect that it is possible to control to 500 N, even on a 120000 N cylinder. The main question is how much tolerance is the system allowed to have when it is at 500 N. Some items that will improve the controllability are: