Simultaneous pressure/force

Hello,

Please excuse me if I make silly assumptions for I have little experience with hydraulics. I would very much appreciate your input for the
following idea.

I wish to lower a drill of known weight into the ground (please see the attached representation). As it goes down, some of the weight of the drill will rest on the material as it drills.
The idea is to monitor and control this amount of weight resting on the material. Following some experimentation and after reviewing your support materials,
I would appreciate any clarification on the following:

You have mentioned before that it takes a flow of oil to move the system where it doesn’t if you controlling pressure or force, making simultaneous force
and motion control tricky. I can see that the force on
the cylinder can be approximated accurately from the rod and cap pressures if the valve is not stroked. But after some experimentation I see that as soon as the valve strokes one way or the other,
the difference between cap and rod pressure varies wildly as one port receives the full supply pressure while the other looses most pressure as it discharges
to the tank. I assume that this is the difficulty that you refer to, although I don’t know how much is due to deficiencies in my test rig. Taking this into account,
would it be more advantageous in my application to just monitor the pressure in the cap?
This would somewhat reduce the large variations in force measurement. If the drill is lowered at a slow and almost constant speed, the pressure in the cap should give
some indication of the load on the cylinder although the port is open and oil is escaping. It becomes very hard to control though, for if the port is opened/closed fast
the pressure will still vary wildly.

You have also stated: